Fiction Shelves

Longlist for 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction announced

Forty-six books, 25 fiction, 21 nonfiction, have been selected for the longlist for the 2018 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction. The list is now available on the awards’ website. The six-title shortlist—three each for the fiction and nonfiction medals—will be chosen from longlist titles and announced on October 25, 2017. The two medal winners will be announced by 2018 selection committee chair Victoria Caplinger at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards (BMAs) event at the American Library Association (ALA) Midwinter Meeting in Denver, Colorado, on Sunday, Feb. 11, 5 -7 p.m.

The ALA Midwinter Meeting now offers all ALA book and media award announcements in the same 24 hours, with the adult Book and Media Awards announcements preceding the Monday morning Youth Media Awards announcements.

The awards are funded in part by a grant from Carnegie Corporation of New York and are cosponsored and administered by Booklist and RUSA. Booklist also sponsors the Michael L. Printz Award, Odyssey Award and Alex Awards. RUSA’s CODES administers the Notable Books List, The Reading List, The Listen List and the Sophie Brody Medal.

The first single-book awards for adult titles given by the ALA, the Andrew Carnegie Medals reflect the expert judgment and insight of library professionals who work closely with adult readers. The Medals and the lists leading up to the selection of the winners serve as a guide to selecting quality reading material.

The winning authors of the fiction and nonfiction medals will speak at the ALA Annual Conference in June at the popular celebratory reception honoring the previous year’s winners. NoveList is the lead sponsor of both the RUSA Book and Media Awards and the Annual Conference reception.

The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction selection committee includes Booklist editors or contributors, past members of RUSA’s Collection Development and Evaluation Section’s (CODES) Notable Books Council, and a representative of the American Booksellers Association. The 2018 selection committee includes chair Victoria Caplinger, NoveList; Sarah Jaffa, Kitsap Regional Library, Bremerton, WA; Elizabeth M. Joseph, Ferguson, Stamford, CT; Annie Bostrom, Booklist, Chicago, IL; Neil Hollands, Williamsburg Regional Library, Williamsburg, VA; Mark Laframboise, Politics and Prose Bookstore, Washington, D.C.; and Donna Seaman, Booklist, Chicago, IL.

Find out more about the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.