The Keene Public Library subscribes to a number of online databases which provide acess to genealogy information, practice tests, and the full-text of magazine and newspaper articles. Many of these are accessible remotely, if you have a Keene Public Library card.
The library subscribes to a collection of ebooks on a variety of consumer technology topics: Photoshop, Windows, digital photography, website design, digital media, and more. Acess Safari Books here. To log in from home, call the Reference Desk at 757-1855 for the username and password.
Do you have a question about any of these resources? Not sure where to start? Call the Reference Desk at (603) 757-1855 or use the Ask A Librarian form.
Ancestry Plus - Census data, birth, marriage & death records, immigration records, military records, and family history records (available only from within the library at Internet stations).
Chilton Library Auto Repair - "represents the most authoritative automotive repair information available to car owners. There are thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models. ChiltonLibrary.com gives you the confidence to service or repair virtually any system on your vehicle."
Consumer Health Complete - Content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Driving-Tests.org - Specific to New Hampshire. Includes 10 car practice tests, 6 motorcycle practice tests, 1 commercial driver's licence practice test, 2 online drivers' manuals (car & motorcycle), and an FAQ section with DMV-related questions and answers.
Foundation Directory - search this database of over 100,000 foundations and corporate donors. (For use in the library only. Ask at the Reference Desk for assistance)
Gale Legal Forms - "Provides a wide selection of state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms across the most popular legal areas. Includes real estate contracts, wills, pre-marital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant and many others. Also included is a comprehensive attorney state directory and a dictionary of legal definitions explained in laymen's language. "
Gale Virtual Reference Library - "a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7." Includes sources in medicine, law, environment, business, history, literature, science, and more.
Learning Express Library - Practice tests and tutorials for GED, SAT, Citizenship, Nursing, Civil Service, and other exams as well as reading and math improvement tutorials. (You will be asked to register at the site in order to access the practice tests.)
Mango Languages - learn a language online! Once you've signed up for a free account, download the Mango Languages app for your mobile device!
Magill's Medical Guide - an up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as use by general readers, including patients and caregivers.
Milestone Documents in American History - Historical documents dating from 1763-2003
Morningstar Investment Research Center - Even better than the print version, with many interactive features to make investing easier. For remote access from home: Morningstar and enter your library card barcode number.
New York Times - Instructions for digital access to the New York Times are here.
NoveList Plus - Now includes non-fiction! Find books or authors similar to ones you like or learn more about a favorite author. Search for books for children, teens & adults. For NoveList help, visit the NoveList Support Center.
Safari Tech Books Online - technology ebooks on a variety of topics including digital photography, website design, Windows 8, software development, photo editing, and more. Available on public Internet stations in the library; to log in from home, call the Reference desk at 757-1855 for the username and password.
Tutor.com - connect with a free online academic tutor or career coach to help you study, prepare for tests, write a paper or resume, find and apply for a job and more. Available everyday from noon until midnight.